Cockies crowned champions

SANDY Creek successfully
chased down Nuriootpa’s total of
115 to claim the Barossa & Light
Cricket Association A1 two-day
premiership on Sunday.
The win is the first A1 two-day title
in the club’s history after joining
the Barossa & Light Cricket Association
in the 2009-10 season following
51 years in the Para District
Cricket Association.
Things got off to a bright start on
day one after Nuriootpa won the
toss and decided to bat, with captain
and opener Luke Steinborner falling
for a 14-ball duck to Will O’Brien –
one of four teenagers playing for the
O’Brien then struck again to remove
number-three Jordan Roesler
for four on his way to figures of 2/14
in five overs, before star teammate
Jamie Diener started to do damage.
Diener dismissed the Tigers’ other
opener, Daniel Moore, for 13,
before bowling out Mitch Norton
and cleaning up the tail to finish
with 4/28 and seven maidens in his
18 overs.
Austin Poulton also proved almost
unplayable, taking 4/14 in 10
terrific overs to remove the visitors
in 52 overs.
Sandy Creek’s chase was always
under control, with all seven batsmen
who took the crease scoring
between eight and 27 runs, led by
Daniel Koch’s 27 from 49 balls to
deliver the five-wicket win in 40
Daniel Doecke was the top Nuriootpa
bowler, taking 2/38 with six
maidens in his 17 overs of work.